orange tips

Two orange-tipped insects this week: a male orange tipped butterfly fluttered by the garden as Mrs T was taking tea, and a queen red-tailed bumble bee who was preening in the sunshine when this picture was taken. Thanks to Anneliese Emmans Dean of theBigBuzz blog on wordpress for the idenification!

Fifty years ago I used to see both of these often in Hampshire, but I don’t remember the last time I saw one of these bees in Kent or anywhere else. I need to keep my eyes open!

Inline image

Leave a Reply

